Senators Warn Federal Firefighting Budget Nearly Exhausted With Fire Season Not Over
Five senators told Interior and USDA the $6 billion FY2026 fire suppression budget was nearly spent by Sept. 2, citing staffing gaps and firefighter deaths.
In 2025, fire departments serving Port Orford responded to 11 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Port Orford's departments reported 11 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 22 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 100% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
110 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $55K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 27 | — | |
| 2022 | 31 | +14.8% | |
| 2023 | 32 | +3.2% | |
| 2024* | 9 | — | |
| 2025* | 11 | — |
* Well below Port Orford's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 7 building fires Port Orford departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 39 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 23 | 59.0% | |
| 2 | Vehicle area, other | 4 | 10.3% | |
| 3 | Laundry area, wash house (laundry) | 2 | 5.1% | |
| 4 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 2 | 5.1% | |
| 5 | Wildland, woods | 2 | 5.1% | |
| 6 | Other | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 7 | Closet | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 8 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 9 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 10 | Vacant structural area | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 1 | 2.6% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Port Orford mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Heat source: other | 15 | 38.5% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 6 | 15.4% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 4 | 10.3% | |
| 4 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 4 | 10.3% | |
| 5 | Match | 3 | 7.7% | |
| 6 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 2 | 5.1% | |
| 7 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 8 | Hot ember or ash | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 9 | Cigarette lighter | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 10 | Candle | 1 | 2.6% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 1 | 2.6% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Port Orford sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 442,795 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | Natural | 191,125 | 41.8 mi | |
| 2018 | Natural | 87,701 | 41.7 mi | |
| 2018 | Natural | 52,839 | 49.4 mi | |
| 2013 | Natural | 26,725 | 38.5 mi | |
| 2013 | Natural | 17,524 | 46.8 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 16,436 | 47.0 mi | |
| 2005 | Natural | 14,772 | 28.4 mi | |
| 2015 | Natural | 12,263 | 33.3 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7,494 | 45.6 mi | |
| 2014 | Arson/incendiarism | 4,106 | 48.3 mi | |
| 2013 | Natural | 2,023 | 43.7 mi | |
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,980 | 48.8 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 97465 | 110 |
Six Oregon cities with population within ±25% of Port Orford. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.