In 2025, fire departments serving Rainsville responded to 57 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $220K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 60% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Jun dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
250 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $1.6M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 28 | — | |
| 2022 | 55 | — | |
| 2023 | 71 | +29.1% | |
| 2024 | 39 | -45.1% | |
| 2025 | 57 | +46.2% |
* Well below Rainsville's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 17 building fires Rainsville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 126 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 28 | 22.2% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 17 | 13.5% | |
| 3 | Undetermined | 17 | 13.5% | |
| 4 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 14 | 11.1% | |
| 5 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 8 | 6.3% | |
| 6 | Cooking area, kitchen | 6 | 4.8% | |
| 7 | Vehicle area, other | 5 | 4.0% | |
| 8 | Other | 3 | 2.4% | |
| 9 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 3 | 2.4% | |
| 10 | Wildland, woods | 3 | 2.4% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 22 | 17.5% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Rainsville mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 61 | 48.4% | |
| 2 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 12 | 9.5% | |
| 3 | Heat source: other | 7 | 5.6% | |
| 4 | Heat spread from another fire, other | 7 | 5.6% | |
| 5 | Arcing | 5 | 4.0% | |
| 6 | Cigarette lighter | 5 | 4.0% | |
| 7 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 4 | 3.2% | |
| 8 | Hot ember or ash | 3 | 2.4% | |
| 9 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 3 | 2.4% | |
| 10 | Flame/torch used for lighting | 3 | 2.4% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 16 | 12.7% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Rainsville departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 99% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $220,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $80,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $30,000 | Fire in motor home, camper, recreational vehicle | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $25,000 | Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $15,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $12,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $8,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $2,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Rainsville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 33,646 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 3,321 | 49.4 mi | |
| 2007 | Debris and open burning | 3,000 | 35.1 mi | |
| 2016 | Debris and open burning | 2,836 | 25.2 mi | |
| 2016 | Recreation and ceremony | 2,083 | 24.8 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,000 | 13.7 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,000 | 20.2 mi | |
| 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,636 | 21.8 mi | |
| 2006 | Misuse of fire by a minor | 1,448 | 15.4 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,350 | 48.7 mi | |
| 2012 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,167 | 36.5 mi | |
| 2001 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 1,100 | 41.1 mi | |
| 2007 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,075 | 46.5 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 35986 | 250 |
Six Alabama cities with population within ±25% of Rainsville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Rainsville.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.