In 2025, fire departments serving Reese responded to 21 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 95% of all calls.
May peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
137 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $272K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 33 | — | |
| 2022 | 28 | -15.2% | |
| 2023 | 26 | -7.1% | |
| 2024 | 29 | +11.5% | |
| 2025 | 21 | -27.6% |
For the 0 building fires Reese departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 20 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 8 | 40.0% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 3 | 15.0% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 2 | 10.0% | |
| 4 | Undetermined | 2 | 10.0% | |
| 5 | Other | 1 | 5.0% | |
| 6 | Cooking area, kitchen | 1 | 5.0% | |
| 7 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 1 | 5.0% | |
| 8 | Vehicle area, other | 1 | 5.0% | |
| 9 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 1 | 5.0% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Reese mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 7 | 35.0% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 2 | 10.0% | |
| 3 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 2 | 10.0% | |
| 4 | Match | 2 | 10.0% | |
| 5 | Cigarette lighter | 2 | 10.0% | |
| 6 | Heat source: other | 1 | 5.0% | |
| 7 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 5.0% | |
| 8 | Hot ember or ash | 1 | 5.0% | |
| 9 | Heat spread from another fire, other | 1 | 5.0% | |
| 10 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 1 | 5.0% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Reese sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 2,949 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2012 | Arson/incendiarism | 335 | 9.0 mi | |
| 1994 | Recreation and ceremony | 289 | 45.5 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 257 | 30.6 mi | |
| 1994 | Debris and open burning | 253 | 46.3 mi | |
| 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 202 | 44.1 mi | |
| 2004 | Natural | 186 | 38.0 mi | |
| 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 178 | 49.0 mi | |
| 2003 | Recreation and ceremony | 155 | 41.6 mi | |
| 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 116 | 44.1 mi | |
| 2015 | Recreation and ceremony | 97 | 44.2 mi | |
| 2010 | Debris and open burning | 70 | 26.2 mi | |
| 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 67 | 12.3 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Michigan cities with population within ±25% of Reese. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Reese.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.