Ross Fire in North Texas Reaches 100% Containment After 90,000-Acre Run
The Ross Fire near Palo Pinto, Texas burned about 90,000 acres and destroyed at least 167 structures before crews fully contained it on Sept. 16.
In 2025, fire departments serving Roanoke responded to 53 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 60% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Jul dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
419 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $497K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 85 | — | |
| 2022 | 97 | +14.1% | |
| 2023 | 87 | -10.3% | |
| 2024 | 97 | +11.5% | |
| 2025 | 53 | -45.4% |
For the 0 building fires Roanoke departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 131 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 20 | 15.3% | |
| 2 | Cooking area, kitchen | 19 | 14.5% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 16 | 12.2% | |
| 4 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 13 | 9.9% | |
| 5 | Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste | 10 | 7.6% | |
| 6 | Outside area, other | 10 | 7.6% | |
| 7 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 6 | 4.6% | |
| 8 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 6 | 4.6% | |
| 9 | Other | 5 | 3.8% | |
| 10 | Railroad right of way: on or near | 5 | 3.8% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 21 | 16.0% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Roanoke mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 76 | 58.0% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 10 | 7.6% | |
| 3 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 7 | 5.3% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 5 | 3.8% | |
| 5 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 5 | 3.8% | |
| 6 | Hot ember or ash | 4 | 3.1% | |
| 7 | Fireworks | 4 | 3.1% | |
| 8 | Heat source: other | 3 | 2.3% | |
| 9 | Cigarette | 3 | 2.3% | |
| 10 | Molten, hot material | 2 | 1.5% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 12 | 9.2% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Roanoke sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 82,033 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 31,419 | 47.2 mi | |
| 1996 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12,201 | 36.4 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6,000 | 48.9 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4,500 | 49.9 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,600 | 20.0 mi | |
| 2009 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2,190 | 44.2 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,153 | 27.7 mi | |
| 2005 | Equipment and vehicle use | 2,000 | 37.8 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,000 | 31.9 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,000 | 16.5 mi | |
| 2011 | Debris and open burning | 1,900 | 32.6 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,500 | 32.1 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Texas cities with population within ±25% of Roanoke. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Roanoke.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.