In 2025, fire departments serving Rocky Mount responded to 153 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $250K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 49% of all calls.
Feb peaks. Jun dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
634 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $4.4M cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 5 | — | |
| 2022 | 103 | — | |
| 2023 | 182 | +76.7% | |
| 2024 | 191 | +4.9% | |
| 2025 | 153 | -19.9% |
* Well below Rocky Mount's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 17 building fires Rocky Mount departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 280 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 125 | 44.6% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 34 | 12.1% | |
| 3 | Other | 22 | 7.9% | |
| 4 | Outside area, other | 17 | 6.1% | |
| 5 | Cooking area, kitchen | 15 | 5.4% | |
| 6 | Vehicle area, other | 8 | 2.9% | |
| 7 | Wildland, woods | 6 | 2.1% | |
| 8 | Function area, other | 5 | 1.8% | |
| 9 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 5 | 1.8% | |
| 10 | Equipment or service area, other | 4 | 1.4% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 39 | 13.9% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Rocky Mount mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 160 | 57.1% | |
| 2 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 36 | 12.9% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 17 | 6.1% | |
| 4 | Heat source: other | 13 | 4.6% | |
| 5 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 13 | 4.6% | |
| 6 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 13 | 4.6% | |
| 7 | Hot ember or ash | 10 | 3.6% | |
| 8 | Match | 4 | 1.4% | |
| 9 | Cigarette lighter | 3 | 1.1% | |
| 10 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 2 | 0.7% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 9 | 3.2% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Rocky Mount departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 83% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $250,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $200,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $100,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $100,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $60,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $40,000 | Mobile property (vehicle) fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $33,900 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $20,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Rocky Mount sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
10 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 2 | |
| 20-29 | 3 | |
| 30-39 | 1 | |
| 40-49 | 0 | |
| 50-59 | 2 | |
| 60-69 | 1 | |
| 70-79 | 1 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 41,396 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2012 | Fireworks | 7,351 | 44.3 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,990 | 24.9 mi | |
| 2006 | Natural | 3,696 | 26.4 mi | |
| 2002 | Natural | 2,935 | 45.8 mi | |
| 2008 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 2,738 | 32.2 mi | |
| 1995 | Smoking | 2,151 | 31.0 mi | |
| 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,678 | 43.4 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,676 | 45.0 mi | |
| 2008 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1,550 | 28.8 mi | |
| 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,354 | 39.9 mi | |
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,349 | 24.9 mi | |
| 1999 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1,285 | 37.7 mi |
Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Virginia cities with population within ±25% of Rocky Mount. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Rocky Mount.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.