In 2025, fire departments serving Rogersville responded to 146 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $400K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 72% of all calls.
Mar peaks. May dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
484 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $3.2M cumulative property loss. 2 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 27 | — | |
| 2022 | 75 | — | |
| 2023 | 76 | +1.3% | |
| 2024 | 160 | +110.5% | |
| 2025 | 146 | -8.8% |
* Well below Rogersville's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 53 building fires Rogersville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 80 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 21 | 26.2% | |
| 2 | Other | 10 | 12.5% | |
| 3 | Cooking area, kitchen | 8 | 10.0% | |
| 4 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 5 | 6.2% | |
| 5 | Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 6 | Wall assembly | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 7 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 8 | Outside area, other | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 9 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 2 | 2.5% | |
| 10 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 2 | 2.5% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 20 | 25.0% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Rogersville mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 41 | 51.2% | |
| 2 | Heat source: other | 9 | 11.2% | |
| 3 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 7 | 8.8% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 6 | 7.5% | |
| 5 | Hot ember or ash | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 6 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 7 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 2 | 2.5% | |
| 8 | Arcing | 2 | 2.5% | |
| 9 | Flame/torch used for lighting | 2 | 2.5% | |
| 10 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 2 | 2.5% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 3 | 3.8% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Rogersville departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 96% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $400,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $300,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 3 | $200,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $200,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $80,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $75,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $50,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $15,000 | Fires in structures other than in a building | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Rogersville sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
7 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 0 | |
| 30-39 | 1 | |
| 40-49 | 1 | |
| 50-59 | 1 | |
| 60-69 | 3 | |
| 70-79 | 1 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 69,912 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | Recreation and ceremony | 7,400 | 37.0 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 5,964 | 37.4 mi | |
| 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 3,860 | 33.9 mi | |
| 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 3,539 | 36.5 mi | |
| 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,300 | 33.8 mi | |
| 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 3,040 | 44.2 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,000 | 49.2 mi | |
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,943 | 35.0 mi | |
| 2000 | Misuse of fire by a minor | 2,850 | 47.0 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,765 | 49.7 mi | |
| 2000 | Debris and open burning | 2,738 | 48.0 mi | |
| 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,500 | 48.0 mi |
Top 6 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Tennessee cities with population within ±25% of Rogersville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
5 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Rogersville.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.