Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Romoland responded to 19 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $15K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 58% of all calls.
Jun peaks. Mar dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
62 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $205K cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 10 | — | |
| 2022 | 10 | +0.0% | |
| 2023 | 10 | +0.0% | |
| 2024 | 13 | +30.0% | |
| 2025 | 19 | +46.2% |
For the 0 building fires Romoland departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 20 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 5 | 25.0% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 3 | 15.0% | |
| 3 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 3 | 15.0% | |
| 4 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 2 | 10.0% | |
| 5 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 2 | 10.0% | |
| 6 | Other | 1 | 5.0% | |
| 7 | Storage area, other | 1 | 5.0% | |
| 8 | Closet | 1 | 5.0% | |
| 9 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 1 | 5.0% | |
| 10 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 1 | 5.0% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Romoland mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 12 | 60.0% | |
| 2 | Match | 3 | 15.0% | |
| 3 | Cigarette lighter | 2 | 10.0% | |
| 4 | Arcing | 1 | 5.0% | |
| 5 | Explosive, fireworks, other | 1 | 5.0% | |
| 6 | Chemical reaction | 1 | 5.0% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Romoland departments in 2025. These 3 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $15,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $5,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $5,000 | Self-propelled motor home or recreational vehicle | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Romoland sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 919,868 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2003 | Arson/incendiarism | 91,281 | 30.6 mi | |
| 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 65,000 | 34.8 mi | |
| 2006 | Natural | 61,700 | 44.7 mi | |
| 2003 | Arson/incendiarism | 59,788 | 33.5 mi | |
| 2003 | Arson/incendiarism | 56,427 | 37.1 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 51,000 | 30.8 mi | |
| 2007 | Other causes | 49,390 | 37.6 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 40,200 | 24.3 mi | |
| 2002 | Arson/incendiarism | 37,240 | 48.4 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 36,274 | 38.6 mi | |
| 2020 | Equipment and vehicle use | 33,424 | 19.2 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 30,305 | 34.2 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 92585 | 62 |
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Romoland. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.