In 2025, fire departments serving Rush Springs responded to 39 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $3.0M building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Grass fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 64% of all calls.
Oct peaks. May dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
279 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $4.0M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 44 | — | |
| 2022 | 72 | +63.6% | |
| 2023 | 58 | -19.4% | |
| 2024 | 66 | +13.8% | |
| 2025 | 39 | -40.9% |
For the 4 building fires Rush Springs departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 199 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 98 | 49.2% | |
| 2 | Wildland, woods | 19 | 9.5% | |
| 3 | Undetermined | 13 | 6.5% | |
| 4 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 11 | 5.5% | |
| 5 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 9 | 4.5% | |
| 6 | Outside area, other | 8 | 4.0% | |
| 7 | Function area, other | 4 | 2.0% | |
| 8 | Vehicle area, other | 4 | 2.0% | |
| 9 | Railroad right of way: on or near | 4 | 2.0% | |
| 10 | Cooking area, kitchen | 3 | 1.5% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 26 | 13.1% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Rush Springs mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Hot ember or ash | 53 | 26.6% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 50 | 25.1% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 17 | 8.5% | |
| 4 | Molten, hot material | 12 | 6.0% | |
| 5 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 11 | 5.5% | |
| 6 | Heat, spark from friction | 9 | 4.5% | |
| 7 | Flame/torch used for lighting | 7 | 3.5% | |
| 8 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 6 | 3.0% | |
| 9 | Heat source: other | 5 | 2.5% | |
| 10 | Lightning | 5 | 2.5% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 24 | 12.1% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Rush Springs departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $3,000,000 | Special outside fire, other | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $250,000 | Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire | Major | Investigated |
| 3 | $50,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $20,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $5,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $1,500 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $1,000 | Grass fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $1,000 | Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Rush Springs sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 307,745 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 56,688 | 43.1 mi | |
| 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 39,907 | 37.5 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 26,000 | 48.1 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 23,824 | 32.1 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 19,200 | 34.7 mi | |
| 1996 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 17,835 | 48.3 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12,500 | 22.6 mi | |
| 2015 | Firearms and explosives use | 10,471 | 36.6 mi | |
| 2000 | Natural | 10,206 | 38.3 mi | |
| 2006 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 8,000 | 21.2 mi | |
| 2006 | Equipment and vehicle use | 7,880 | 36.6 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7,000 | 32.9 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 73082 | 279 |
Six Oklahoma cities with population within ±25% of Rush Springs. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
4 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Rush Springs.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.