In 2025, fire departments serving Rutland responded to 49 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $50K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Rutland's departments reported 49 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 113 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Unauthorized burning lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 57% of all calls.
Aug peaks. Oct dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
563 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $328K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 262 | — | |
| 2022 | 72 | -72.5% | |
| 2023 | 95 | +31.9% | |
| 2024 | 85 | -10.5% | |
| 2025* | 49 | — |
* Well below Rutland's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 4 building fires Rutland departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 65 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cooking area, kitchen | 10 | 15.4% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 9 | 13.8% | |
| 3 | Laundry area, wash house (laundry) | 5 | 7.7% | |
| 4 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 5 | 7.7% | |
| 5 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 4 | 6.2% | |
| 6 | Undetermined | 4 | 6.2% | |
| 7 | Processing/manufacturing area, workroom | 3 | 4.6% | |
| 8 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 3 | 4.6% | |
| 9 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 2 | 3.1% | |
| 10 | Substructure area or space, crawl space | 2 | 3.1% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 18 | 27.7% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Rutland mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 35 | 53.8% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 10 | 15.4% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 5 | 7.7% | |
| 4 | Hot ember or ash | 5 | 7.7% | |
| 5 | Heat from undetermined smoking material | 2 | 3.1% | |
| 6 | Flame/torch used for lighting | 2 | 3.1% | |
| 7 | Molten, hot material | 1 | 1.5% | |
| 8 | Fireworks | 1 | 1.5% | |
| 9 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 1.5% | |
| 10 | Cigarette | 1 | 1.5% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 2 | 3.1% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Rutland departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $50,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Rutland sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
9 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 3 | |
| 30-39 | 1 | |
| 40-49 | 2 | |
| 50-59 | 1 | |
| 60-69 | 1 | |
| 70-79 | 0 | |
| 80+ | 1 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,965 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1992 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 270 | 19.3 mi | |
| 2014 | Recreation and ceremony | 173 | 42.4 mi | |
| 2015 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 137 | 29.5 mi | |
| 2015 | Recreation and ceremony | 121 | 37.4 mi | |
| 2012 | Debris and open burning | 120 | 40.3 mi | |
| 1994 | Recreation and ceremony | 117 | 42.7 mi | |
| 1992 | Arson/incendiarism | 100 | 49.2 mi | |
| 2009 | Equipment and vehicle use | 83 | 28.3 mi | |
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 82 | 36.2 mi | |
| 2002 | Natural | 65 | 40.9 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 62 | 21.7 mi | |
| 2016 | Smoking | 60 | 44.2 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Vermont cities with population within ±25% of Rutland. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Rutland.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.