Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Saticoy responded to 14 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 72% of all calls.
May peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
49 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $1.1M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 5 | — | |
| 2022* | 5 | — | |
| 2023 | 12 | — | |
| 2024 | 13 | +8.3% | |
| 2025 | 14 | +7.7% |
* Well below Saticoy's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 2 building fires Saticoy departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 11 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 3 | 27.3% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 3 | 27.3% | |
| 3 | Undetermined | 2 | 18.2% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 1 | 9.1% | |
| 5 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 1 | 9.1% | |
| 6 | Outside area, other | 1 | 9.1% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Saticoy mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 9 | 81.8% | |
| 2 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 9.1% | |
| 3 | Heat, spark from friction | 1 | 9.1% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Saticoy sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,394,308 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 281,893 | 11.0 mi | |
| 2020 | Natural | 174,178 | 47.6 mi | |
| 2006 | Debris and open burning | 162,702 | 32.3 mi | |
| 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 108,204 | 28.2 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 96,949 | 25.6 mi | |
| 2003 | Equipment and vehicle use | 63,720 | 26.2 mi | |
| 2007 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 45,300 | 32.5 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 41,432 | 43.2 mi | |
| 2007 | Misuse of fire by a minor | 38,356 | 49.2 mi | |
| 1993 | Arson/incendiarism | 38,152 | 17.8 mi | |
| 2016 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 32,606 | 41.8 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 31,089 | 48.1 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Saticoy. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.