Home› Kansas› Scott City
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Scott City, Kansas

In 2025, fire departments serving Scott City responded to 14 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $15K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A Peak yr 2022 Scott County 4,121 residents 0 reporting departments 69 5-yr
Total incidents
14
-26.3% vs 2024
Building fires
1
Residential 0% Other 100%
Property loss
$35K
$31K structure · $4K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Passenger vehicle fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 64% of all calls.

14
Total Incidents
Passenger vehicle fire 3 21.4%
Road freight or transport vehicle fire 2 14.3%
Power line down 2 14.3%
Fire, other 1 7.1%
Building fires 1 7.1%
All other categories 5 35.7%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Jun peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 0
Feb 1
Mar 1
Apr 2
May 2
Jun 4
Jul 1
Aug 1
Sep 1
Oct 1
Nov 0
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Scott City

69 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $638K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021* 1 —
2022 21 —
2023 14 -33.3%
2024 19 +35.7%
2025 14 -26.3%

* Well below Scott City's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 1 building fires Scott City departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
62%
5
Cause undetermined
0%
0
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
25%
2
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
13%
1
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Scott City?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 37 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 9 24.3%
2 Outside area, other 8 21.6%
3 Other 3 8.1%
4 Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace 2 5.4%
5 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 2 5.4%
6 Corridor, mall 1 2.7%
7 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 1 2.7%
8 Bedroom - 5+ persons; including barrack/dormitory 1 2.7%
9 Cooking area, kitchen 1 2.7%
10 Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room 1 2.7%
11 All other areas 8 21.6%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Scott City mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 10 27.0%
2 Heat from powered equipment, other 5 13.5%
3 Hot or smoldering object, other 5 13.5%
4 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 4 10.8%
5 Arcing 4 10.8%
6 Fireworks 2 5.4%
7 Chemical reaction 2 5.4%
8 Heat source: other 1 2.7%
9 Hot ember or ash 1 2.7%
10 Match 1 2.7%
11 All other sources 2 5.4%
04 The biggest fires

4 fires · $31K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Scott City departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $15,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
2 $10,000 Passenger vehicle fire Significant Investigated
3 $5,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $500 Road freight or transport vehicle fire Significant Investigated
05 How Scott City compares

Scott City vs Kansas vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Scott City sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

3.4
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Scott City
3.4
KS avg
9.65
US avg
7.48
0.24
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Scott City
0.24
KS avg
0.98
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Scott City
0
KS avg
8.5
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Scott City

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 48,932 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2017 Power generation/transmission/distribution 18,000 32.5 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 10,000 38.4 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 6,400 47.0 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,900 28.4 mi
2020 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,800 24.7 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,600 40.8 mi
2012 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,200 22.7 mi
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,200 35.4 mi
2017 Debris and open burning 1,200 23.6 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 1,200 44.8 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 749 49.4 mi
2008 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 650 26.8 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Scott City do fires concentrate?

Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 67871 69
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Scott City

Six Kansas cities with population within ±25% of Scott City. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.