Home› Texas› Spearman
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Spearman, Texas

In 2025, fire departments serving Spearman responded to 18 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $360K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A- Peak yr 2024 Hansford County 2,989 residents 1 reporting departments 52 5-yr
Total incidents
18
-45.5% vs 2024
Building fires
0
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$360K
$360K structure · $0 contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Cultivated grain or crop fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 78% of all calls.

18
Total Incidents
Cultivated grain or crop fire 4 22.2%
Grass fire 3 16.7%
Authorized controlled burning 3 16.7%
Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire 2 11.1%
Dumpster or other outside trash receptacle fire 2 11.1%
All other categories 4 22.2%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Nov peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 2
Feb 0
Mar 0
Apr 0
May 1
Jun 3
Jul 2
Aug 0
Sep 0
Oct 2
Nov 5
Dec 3
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Spearman

52 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $430K cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021* 0 —
2022* 1 —
2023* 0 —
2024 33 —
2025 18 -45.5%

* Well below Spearman's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 0 building fires Spearman departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
40%
4
Cause undetermined
10%
1
Intentional / arson
0%
0
Equipment / heat source failure
20%
2
Under investigation
0%
0
Act of nature (lightning)
30%
3
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Spearman?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 35 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 8 22.9%
2 Other 5 14.3%
3 Outside area, other 4 11.4%
4 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 4 11.4%
5 Undetermined 4 11.4%
6 Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste 3 8.6%
7 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 3 8.6%
8 Cooking area, kitchen 2 5.7%
9 Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles 1 2.9%
10 Exterior, exposed surface 1 2.9%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Spearman mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 13 37.1%
2 Heat, spark from friction 3 8.6%
3 Chemical reaction 3 8.6%
4 Heat source: other 2 5.7%
5 Heat from powered equipment, other 2 5.7%
6 Hot or smoldering object, other 2 5.7%
7 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 1 2.9%
8 Hot ember or ash 1 2.9%
9 Explosive, fireworks, other 1 2.9%
10 Fireworks 1 2.9%
11 All other sources 6 17.1%
04 The biggest fires

1 fires · $360K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Spearman departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $360,000 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Major Investigated
05 How Spearman compares

Spearman vs Texas vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Spearman sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

6.02
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Spearman
6.02
TX avg
7.68
US avg
7.48
0
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Spearman
0
TX avg
0.7
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Spearman
0
TX avg
5.4
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Spearman

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,139,859 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2006 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 479,549 38.0 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 318,156 37.8 mi
2016 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 44,686 38.2 mi
2017 Power generation/transmission/distribution 38,104 34.7 mi
1999 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 30,000 36.3 mi
2020 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 29,189 43.5 mi
2011 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 23,000 46.0 mi
1998 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 20,000 48.4 mi
2000 Smoking 20,000 48.4 mi
2011 Power generation/transmission/distribution 19,200 41.6 mi
2006 Equipment and vehicle use 18,000 47.4 mi
2020 Equipment and vehicle use 11,520 38.2 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Spearman do fires concentrate?

Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 79081 52
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Spearman

Six Texas cities with population within ±25% of Spearman. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Spearman?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Spearman.

Spearman VFD
513 Hazelwood ST
FDID HX403Volunteer
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.