In 2025, fire departments serving Springhill responded to 20 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $215K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 70% of all calls.
Mar peaks. May dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
89 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $219K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 1 | — | |
| 2022 | 12 | — | |
| 2023* | 7 | — | |
| 2024 | 49 | — | |
| 2025 | 20 | -59.2% |
* Well below Springhill's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 6 building fires Springhill departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 26 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 8 | 30.8% | |
| 2 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 4 | 15.4% | |
| 3 | Other | 3 | 11.5% | |
| 4 | Wildland, woods | 3 | 11.5% | |
| 5 | Undetermined | 3 | 11.5% | |
| 6 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 1 | 3.8% | |
| 7 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 1 | 3.8% | |
| 8 | Storage area, other | 1 | 3.8% | |
| 9 | Wall assembly | 1 | 3.8% | |
| 10 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 1 | 3.8% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Springhill mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 8 | 30.8% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 6 | 23.1% | |
| 3 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 2 | 7.7% | |
| 4 | Hot ember or ash | 2 | 7.7% | |
| 5 | Heat spread from another fire, other | 2 | 7.7% | |
| 6 | Flying brand, ember, spark | 2 | 7.7% | |
| 7 | Heat source: other | 1 | 3.8% | |
| 8 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 1 | 3.8% | |
| 9 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 3.8% | |
| 10 | Cigarette | 1 | 3.8% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Springhill departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $215,000 | Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Springhill sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 15,348 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,378 | 38.8 mi | |
| 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,299 | 33.3 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,048 | 48.4 mi | |
| 1996 | Arson/incendiarism | 929 | 41.2 mi | |
| 2006 | Equipment and vehicle use | 905 | 41.2 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 902 | 34.5 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 902 | 39.7 mi | |
| 2004 | Natural | 727 | 12.3 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 669 | 41.2 mi | |
| 2012 | Arson/incendiarism | 537 | 45.3 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 506 | 38.2 mi | |
| 1998 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 452 | 30.7 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 71075 | 89 |
Six Louisiana cities with population within ±25% of Springhill. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.