In 2025, fire departments serving Sunland Park responded to 44 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $50K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Sunland Park's departments reported 44 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 95 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 59% of all calls.
Jun peaks. Aug dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
473 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $286K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 108 | — | |
| 2022 | 89 | -17.6% | |
| 2023 | 129 | +44.9% | |
| 2024 | 103 | -20.2% | |
| 2025* | 44 | — |
* Well below Sunland Park's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 11 building fires Sunland Park departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 170 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 47 | 27.6% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 33 | 19.4% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 12 | 7.1% | |
| 4 | Other | 9 | 5.3% | |
| 5 | Cooking area, kitchen | 9 | 5.3% | |
| 6 | Storage area, other | 7 | 4.1% | |
| 7 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 6 | 3.5% | |
| 8 | Wildland, woods | 6 | 3.5% | |
| 9 | Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste | 4 | 2.4% | |
| 10 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 4 | 2.4% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 33 | 19.4% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Sunland Park mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 100 | 58.8% | |
| 2 | Heat source: other | 14 | 8.2% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 7 | 4.1% | |
| 4 | Cigarette lighter | 7 | 4.1% | |
| 5 | Fireworks | 6 | 3.5% | |
| 6 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 5 | 2.9% | |
| 7 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 5 | 2.9% | |
| 8 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 4 | 2.4% | |
| 9 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 3 | 1.8% | |
| 10 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 3 | 1.8% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 16 | 9.4% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Sunland Park departments in 2025. These 4 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $50,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $20,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $2,000 | Natural vegetation fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $2,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Sunland Park sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 63,081 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1994 | Natural | 13,804 | 46.3 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 13,424 | 33.3 mi | |
| 1994 | Natural | 9,000 | 43.3 mi | |
| 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 5,160 | 33.4 mi | |
| 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | 5,045 | 42.0 mi | |
| 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,582 | 28.9 mi | |
| 1997 | Natural | 2,400 | 35.5 mi | |
| 2009 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,150 | 49.9 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,735 | 34.6 mi | |
| 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1,472 | 42.1 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,100 | 34.5 mi | |
| 2018 | Natural | 1,050 | 48.0 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six New Mexico cities with population within ±25% of Sunland Park. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Sunland Park.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.