In 2025, fire departments serving Tipton responded to 19 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Power line down lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 58% of all calls.
Apr peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
88 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 16 | — | |
| 2022 | 25 | +56.2% | |
| 2023 | 11 | -56.0% | |
| 2024 | 17 | +54.5% | |
| 2025 | 19 | +11.8% |
For the 1 building fires Tipton departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 37 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 5 | 13.5% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 5 | 13.5% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 4 | 10.8% | |
| 4 | Outside area, other | 4 | 10.8% | |
| 5 | Other | 2 | 5.4% | |
| 6 | Vehicle area, other | 2 | 5.4% | |
| 7 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 2 | 5.4% | |
| 8 | Entrance way, lobby | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 9 | Egress/exit, other | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 10 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 10 | 27.0% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Tipton mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 24 | 64.9% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 3 | 8.1% | |
| 3 | Heat source: other | 2 | 5.4% | |
| 4 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 5 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 6 | Hot ember or ash | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 7 | Fireworks | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 8 | Heat from undetermined smoking material | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 9 | Cigarette lighter | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 10 | Chemical, natural heat source, other | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 1 | 2.7% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Tipton sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 13,974 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1993 | Debris and open burning | 2,245 | 34.4 mi | |
| 2018 | Natural | 759 | 29.7 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 745 | 19.9 mi | |
| 2018 | Arson/incendiarism | 726 | 29.8 mi | |
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 640 | 41.6 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 609 | 32.1 mi | |
| 1994 | Arson/incendiarism | 597 | 49.7 mi | |
| 1999 | Debris and open burning | 563 | 29.8 mi | |
| 1999 | Debris and open burning | 537 | 34.3 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 500 | 35.2 mi | |
| 1995 | Debris and open burning | 498 | 49.4 mi | |
| 1994 | Debris and open burning | 457 | 35.4 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Missouri cities with population within ±25% of Tipton. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Tipton.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.