Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Trabuco Canyon responded to 12 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Passenger vehicle fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 83% of all calls.
Sep peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
68 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $130K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 20 | — | |
| 2022 | 14 | -30.0% | |
| 2023* | 7 | — | |
| 2024 | 15 | — | |
| 2025 | 12 | -20.0% |
* Well below Trabuco Canyon's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 0 building fires Trabuco Canyon departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 37 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 10 | 27.0% | |
| 2 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 8 | 21.6% | |
| 3 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 5 | 13.5% | |
| 4 | Wildland, woods | 5 | 13.5% | |
| 5 | Equipment or service area, other | 2 | 5.4% | |
| 6 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 2 | 5.4% | |
| 7 | Other | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 8 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 9 | Fuel tank, fuel line | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 10 | Outside area, other | 1 | 2.7% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 1 | 2.7% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Trabuco Canyon mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 14 | 37.8% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 8 | 21.6% | |
| 3 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 4 | 10.8% | |
| 4 | Radiated heat from another fire | 4 | 10.8% | |
| 5 | Arcing | 2 | 5.4% | |
| 6 | Hot ember or ash | 2 | 5.4% | |
| 7 | Match | 2 | 5.4% | |
| 8 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 2.7% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Trabuco Canyon sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 890,834 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 115,997 | 44.6 mi | |
| 2003 | Arson/incendiarism | 91,281 | 40.2 mi | |
| 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 65,000 | 48.5 mi | |
| 2003 | Arson/incendiarism | 59,788 | 34.5 mi | |
| 2003 | Arson/incendiarism | 56,427 | 47.1 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 40,200 | 49.9 mi | |
| 2002 | Arson/incendiarism | 37,240 | 39.7 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 36,274 | 41.1 mi | |
| 2020 | Equipment and vehicle use | 33,424 | 42.2 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 30,305 | 15.8 mi | |
| 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 28,476 | 6.3 mi | |
| 1998 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 28,164 | 44.6 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Trabuco Canyon. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.