In 2025, fire departments serving Blackwell responded to 50 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $268K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Blackwell's departments reported 50 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 96 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 52% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Sep dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
481 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $1.4M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 99 | — | |
| 2022 | 145 | +46.5% | |
| 2023 | 80 | -44.8% | |
| 2024 | 107 | +33.8% | |
| 2025* | 50 | — |
* Well below Blackwell's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 3 building fires Blackwell departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 253 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 78 | 30.8% | |
| 2 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 38 | 15.0% | |
| 3 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 18 | 7.1% | |
| 4 | Undetermined | 14 | 5.5% | |
| 5 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 13 | 5.1% | |
| 6 | Other | 12 | 4.7% | |
| 7 | Wildland, woods | 9 | 3.6% | |
| 8 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 8 | 3.2% | |
| 9 | Cooking area, kitchen | 7 | 2.8% | |
| 10 | Vehicle area, other | 5 | 2.0% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 51 | 20.2% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Blackwell mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 115 | 45.5% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 18 | 7.1% | |
| 3 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 13 | 5.1% | |
| 4 | Hot ember or ash | 13 | 5.1% | |
| 5 | Cigarette lighter | 11 | 4.3% | |
| 6 | Heat source: other | 9 | 3.6% | |
| 7 | Fireworks | 9 | 3.6% | |
| 8 | Flame/torch used for lighting | 9 | 3.6% | |
| 9 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 8 | 3.2% | |
| 10 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 8 | 3.2% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 40 | 15.8% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Blackwell departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $267,500 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $30,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $20,000 | Outside equipment fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $3,500 | Fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $3,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $2,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $1,500 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $1,000 | Mobile property (vehicle) fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Blackwell sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 133,143 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 20,307 | 44.3 mi | |
| 2014 | Debris and open burning | 17,683 | 49.7 mi | |
| 2014 | Debris and open burning | 14,910 | 49.1 mi | |
| 2011 | Debris and open burning | 11,382 | 41.3 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6,887 | 48.7 mi | |
| 2015 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 6,400 | 21.6 mi | |
| 2008 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 6,325 | 38.6 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,015 | 48.3 mi | |
| 2014 | Debris and open burning | 4,922 | 46.0 mi | |
| 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4,500 | 35.2 mi | |
| 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 3,640 | 32.7 mi | |
| 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | 3,380 | 38.4 mi |
Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Oklahoma cities with population within ±25% of Blackwell. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Blackwell.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.