In 2025, fire departments serving Bountiful responded to 143 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $15K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 62% of all calls.
Jul peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
772 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $2.2M cumulative property loss. 2 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 140 | — | |
| 2022 | 154 | +10.0% | |
| 2023 | 151 | -1.9% | |
| 2024 | 184 | +21.9% | |
| 2025 | 143 | -22.3% |
For the 4 building fires Bountiful departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 170 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 37 | 21.8% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 21 | 12.4% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 17 | 10.0% | |
| 4 | Undetermined | 13 | 7.6% | |
| 5 | Other | 10 | 5.9% | |
| 6 | Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste | 10 | 5.9% | |
| 7 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 9 | 5.3% | |
| 8 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 5 | 2.9% | |
| 9 | Vehicle area, other | 5 | 2.9% | |
| 10 | Cooking area, kitchen | 4 | 2.4% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 39 | 22.9% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Bountiful mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 32 | 18.8% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 31 | 18.2% | |
| 3 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 17 | 10.0% | |
| 4 | Fireworks | 13 | 7.6% | |
| 5 | Heat source: other | 12 | 7.1% | |
| 6 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 12 | 7.1% | |
| 7 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 8 | 4.7% | |
| 8 | Cigarette | 5 | 2.9% | |
| 9 | Match | 5 | 2.9% | |
| 10 | Cigarette lighter | 5 | 2.9% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 30 | 17.6% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Bountiful departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 97% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $15,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $15,000 | Fires in structures other than in a building | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $10,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $5,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $5,000 | Cooking fire, confined to container | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $4,000 | Outside storage fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $3,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $2,500 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Bountiful sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
7 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 2 | |
| 30-39 | 2 | |
| 40-49 | 1 | |
| 50-59 | 0 | |
| 60-69 | 2 | |
| 70-79 | 0 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 234,389 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | Natural | 44,345 | 45.6 mi | |
| 2011 | Firearms and explosives use | 16,267 | 47.6 mi | |
| 2000 | Natural | 16,116 | 35.8 mi | |
| 2016 | Natural | 15,330 | 19.7 mi | |
| 2007 | Natural | 14,293 | 39.9 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12,584 | 46.4 mi | |
| 2018 | Firearms and explosives use | 9,880 | 46.4 mi | |
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 9,000 | 30.9 mi | |
| 2003 | Debris and open burning | 7,828 | 32.7 mi | |
| 1996 | Natural | 7,620 | 45.4 mi | |
| 2020 | Firearms and explosives use | 6,848 | 34.7 mi | |
| 1998 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6,550 | 49.4 mi |
Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Utah cities with population within ±25% of Bountiful. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.