In 2025, fire departments serving Spanish Fork responded to 245 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $1.0M building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 57% of all calls.
Jul peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
951 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025. $7.8M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 150 | — | |
| 2022 | 166 | +10.7% | |
| 2023 | 179 | +7.8% | |
| 2024 | 211 | +17.9% | |
| 2025 | 245 | +16.1% |
For the 23 building fires Spanish Fork departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 198 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 36 | 18.2% | |
| 2 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 28 | 14.1% | |
| 3 | Undetermined | 27 | 13.6% | |
| 4 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 13 | 6.6% | |
| 5 | Cooking area, kitchen | 12 | 6.1% | |
| 6 | Vehicle area, other | 8 | 4.0% | |
| 7 | Outside area, other | 8 | 4.0% | |
| 8 | Storage room, area, tank, or bin | 6 | 3.0% | |
| 9 | Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste | 6 | 3.0% | |
| 10 | Storage area, other | 5 | 2.5% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 49 | 24.7% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Spanish Fork mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 54 | 27.3% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 24 | 12.1% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 24 | 12.1% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 15 | 7.6% | |
| 5 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 14 | 7.1% | |
| 6 | Chemical reaction | 11 | 5.6% | |
| 7 | Heat source: other | 7 | 3.5% | |
| 8 | Hot ember or ash | 7 | 3.5% | |
| 9 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 6 | 3.0% | |
| 10 | Heat, spark from friction | 6 | 3.0% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 30 | 15.2% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Spanish Fork departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 96% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1,000,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $437,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 3 | $325,000 | Fires in structures other than in a building | Major | Investigated |
| 4 | $100,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $60,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $50,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $30,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $30,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Spanish Fork sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
23 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 3 | |
| 20-29 | 9 | |
| 30-39 | 5 | |
| 40-49 | 4 | |
| 50-59 | 1 | |
| 60-69 | 0 | |
| 70-79 | 1 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 738,581 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | Natural | 102,191 | 21.1 mi | |
| 1996 | Natural | 89,148 | 41.9 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 68,547 | 43.4 mi | |
| 1999 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 58,707 | 45.9 mi | |
| 2012 | Natural | 48,986 | 48.9 mi | |
| 2012 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 47,387 | 34.9 mi | |
| 1996 | Natural | 37,923 | 44.0 mi | |
| 2000 | Natural | 33,838 | 25.1 mi | |
| 2018 | Natural | 31,661 | 16.7 mi | |
| 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 25,456 | 27.5 mi | |
| 2012 | Natural | 22,045 | 48.5 mi | |
| 1996 | Natural | 18,750 | 44.8 mi |
Top 7 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Utah cities with population within ±25% of Spanish Fork. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Spanish Fork.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.