In 2025, fire departments serving Brookville responded to 16 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Accident, potential accident, other lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 100% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Apr dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
84 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $111K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 19 | — | |
| 2022 | 12 | -36.8% | |
| 2023* | 8 | — | |
| 2024 | 29 | — | |
| 2025 | 16 | -44.8% |
* Well below Brookville's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 5 building fires Brookville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 9 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 3 | 33.3% | |
| 2 | Other | 1 | 11.1% | |
| 3 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 1 | 11.1% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 1 | 11.1% | |
| 5 | Structural area, other | 1 | 11.1% | |
| 6 | Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch | 1 | 11.1% | |
| 7 | Vehicle area, other | 1 | 11.1% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Brookville mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 4 | 44.4% | |
| 2 | Heat source: other | 2 | 22.2% | |
| 3 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 11.1% | |
| 4 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 1 | 11.1% | |
| 5 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 11.1% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Brookville sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 3,364 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 870 | 36.8 mi | |
| 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 450 | 37.0 mi | |
| 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 300 | 37.0 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 280 | 35.6 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 220 | 36.8 mi | |
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 200 | 37.3 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 182 | 41.7 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 100 | 36.3 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 74 | 36.7 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 72 | 36.9 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 65 | 36.8 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 65 | 36.6 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 47012 | 84 |
Six Indiana cities with population within ±25% of Brookville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Brookville.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.