Home› Ohio› Carrollton
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Carrollton, Ohio

In 2025, fire departments serving Carrollton responded to 97 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $200K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C Peak yr 2023 Carroll County 3,270 residents 0 reporting departments 546 5-yr
Total incidents
97
-10.2% vs 2024
Building fires
20
Residential 65% Other 35%
Property loss
$603K
$453K structure · $150K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 57% of all calls.

97
Total Incidents
Building fires 20 20.6%
Power line down 13 13.4%
Accident, potential accident, other 9 9.3%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 7 7.2%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 6 6.2%
All other categories 42 43.3%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Nov peaks. Aug dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 9
Feb 4
Mar 14
Apr 13
May 11
Jun 4
Jul 7
Aug 3
Sep 6
Oct 8
Nov 15
Dec 3
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Carrollton

546 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $2.2M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 96 —
2022 104 +8.3%
2023 141 +35.6%
2024 108 -23.4%
2025 97 -10.2%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 20 building fires Carrollton departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
38%
11
Cause undetermined
38%
11
Intentional / arson
3%
1
Equipment / heat source failure
3%
1
Under investigation
3%
1
Act of nature (lightning)
15%
2
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Carrollton?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 119 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 27 22.7%
2 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 14 11.8%
3 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 13 10.9%
4 Wildland, woods 10 8.4%
5 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 7 5.9%
6 Cooking area, kitchen 6 5.0%
7 Exterior, exposed surface 6 5.0%
8 Outside area, other 5 4.2%
9 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 4 3.4%
10 Conduit, pipe, utility, or ventilation shaft 3 2.5%
11 All other areas 24 20.2%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Carrollton mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 55 46.2%
2 Arcing 13 10.9%
3 Hot ember or ash 7 5.9%
4 Radiated heat from another fire 7 5.9%
5 Heat from powered equipment, other 6 5.0%
6 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 6 5.0%
7 Hot or smoldering object, other 5 4.2%
8 Flying brand, ember, spark 4 3.4%
9 Molten, hot material 3 2.5%
10 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 2 1.7%
11 All other sources 11 9.2%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $435K in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Carrollton departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 96% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $200,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
2 $70,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $60,000 Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire Significant Investigated
4 $40,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $30,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
6 $15,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
7 $10,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
8 $10,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
05 How Carrollton compares

Carrollton vs Ohio vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Carrollton sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

29.66
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Carrollton
29.66
OH avg
11.06
US avg
7.48
6.12
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Carrollton
6.12
OH avg
1.94
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Carrollton
0
OH avg
10.3
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Carrollton

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,240 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 175 5.5 mi
2013 Debris and open burning 106 46.9 mi
2019 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 100 47.7 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 100 38.3 mi
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 78 17.8 mi
2013 Recreation and ceremony 75 47.1 mi
2014 Debris and open burning 60 7.0 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 50 39.8 mi
2014 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 49 49.1 mi
1992 Arson/incendiarism 48 33.5 mi
2014 Debris and open burning 40 47.7 mi
2015 Arson/incendiarism 35 10.7 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Carrollton do fires concentrate?

Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 44615 544
2 43908 1
3 44620 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Carrollton

Six Ohio cities with population within ±25% of Carrollton. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.