Home› Minnesota› Coon Rapids
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Coon Rapids, Minnesota

In 2025, fire departments serving Coon Rapids responded to 378 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $337K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A Peak yr 2021 Anoka County 63,296 residents 0 reporting departments 1,931 5-yr
Total incidents
378
-0.5% vs 2024
Building fires
32
Residential 66% Other 34%
Property loss
$2.3M
$1.7M structure · $648K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Unauthorized burning lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 61% of all calls.

378
Total Incidents
Unauthorized burning 66 17.5%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 46 12.2%
Authorized controlled burning 44 11.6%
Power line down 41 10.8%
Building fires 32 8.5%
All other categories 149 39.4%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Jul peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 23
Feb 18
Mar 32
Apr 30
May 35
Jun 41
Jul 66
Aug 28
Sep 39
Oct 31
Nov 35
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Coon Rapids

1,931 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $8.2M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 446 —
2022 389 -12.8%
2023 338 -13.1%
2024 380 +12.4%
2025 378 -0.5%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 32 building fires Coon Rapids departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
47%
35
Cause undetermined
35%
26
Intentional / arson
1%
1
Equipment / heat source failure
7%
5
Under investigation
7%
5
Act of nature (lightning)
3%
0
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Coon Rapids?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 376 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 53 14.1%
2 Outside area, other 51 13.6%
3 Undetermined 44 11.7%
4 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 30 8.0%
5 Cooking area, kitchen 28 7.4%
6 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 19 5.1%
7 Wall surface: exterior 16 4.3%
8 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 16 4.3%
9 Wildland, woods 15 4.0%
10 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 11 2.9%
11 All other areas 93 24.7%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Coon Rapids mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 191 50.8%
2 Heat from powered equipment, other 28 7.4%
3 Cigarette 22 5.9%
4 Hot ember or ash 20 5.3%
5 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 13 3.5%
6 Fireworks 13 3.5%
7 Heat source: other 11 2.9%
8 Arcing 11 2.9%
9 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 9 2.4%
10 Heat spread from another fire, other 8 2.1%
11 All other sources 50 13.3%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $1.1M in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Coon Rapids departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 63% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $336,800 Building fires Major Investigated
2 $170,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $130,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $125,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $113,700 Building fires Significant Investigated
6 $75,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
7 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
8 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
05 How Coon Rapids compares

Coon Rapids vs Minnesota vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Coon Rapids sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

5.97
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Coon Rapids
5.97
MN avg
7.36
US avg
7.48
0.51
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Coon Rapids
0.51
MN avg
1.08
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Coon Rapids
0
MN avg
4.4
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Coon Rapids

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 18,970 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2000 Debris and open burning 8,513 12.9 mi
2009 Arson/incendiarism 2,550 12.2 mi
1996 Debris and open burning 1,299 26.4 mi
2004 Recreation and ceremony 1,000 24.6 mi
2004 Railroad operations and maintenance 835 44.3 mi
2000 Smoking 420 16.2 mi
2010 Equipment and vehicle use 336 8.2 mi
1995 Debris and open burning 320 31.5 mi
1999 Railroad operations and maintenance 306 6.3 mi
2010 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 280 32.4 mi
2005 Debris and open burning 260 35.3 mi
2004 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 250 5.2 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Coon Rapids do fires concentrate?

Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 55433 1,162
2 55448 765
3 55434 3
4 55432 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Coon Rapids

Six Minnesota cities with population within ±25% of Coon Rapids. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.