Home› Texas› Dayton
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Dayton, Texas

In 2025, fire departments serving Dayton responded to 18 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade C Peak yr 2023 Liberty County 8,839 residents 5 reporting departments 951 5-yr

Incomplete 2025 data. Dayton's departments reported 18 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 190 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.

Total incidents
18
Not comparable with 2024 (incomplete reporting)
Building fires
7
Residential 57% Other 43%
Property loss
$0
$0 structure · $0 contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 83% of all calls.

18
Total Incidents
Building fires 7 38.9%
Brush, or brush and grass mixture fire 2 11.1%
Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire 2 11.1%
Hazardous condition, other 2 11.1%
Power line down 2 11.1%
All other categories 3 16.7%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Jan peaks. Apr dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 3
Feb 1
Mar 3
Apr 0
May 1
Jun 2
Jul 2
Aug 1
Sep 1
Oct 1
Nov 2
Dec 1
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Dayton

951 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $1.4M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021* 100 —
2022 297 —
2023 464 +56.2%
2024* 72 —
2025* 18 —

* Well below Dayton's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 7 building fires Dayton departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Dayton?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 74 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 35 47.3%
2 Outside area, other 8 10.8%
3 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 6 8.1%
4 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 4 5.4%
5 Other 3 4.1%
6 Cooking area, kitchen 3 4.1%
7 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 2 2.7%
8 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 2 2.7%
9 Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge 1 1.4%
10 Function area, other 1 1.4%
11 All other areas 9 12.2%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Dayton mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 40 54.1%
2 Heat source: other 7 9.5%
3 Arcing 7 9.5%
4 Heat from powered equipment, other 5 6.8%
5 Hot or smoldering object, other 4 5.4%
6 Hot ember or ash 3 4.1%
7 Cigarette lighter 2 2.7%
8 Heat spread from another fire, other 2 2.7%
9 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 1 1.4%
10 Heat from other open flame or smoking materials 1 1.4%
11 All other sources 2 2.7%
05 How Dayton compares

Dayton vs Texas vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Dayton sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

2.04
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Dayton
2.04
TX avg
7.68
US avg
7.48
0.79
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Dayton
0.79
TX avg
0.7
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Dayton
0
TX avg
5.4
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Dayton

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 101,207 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2012 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 14,169 48.4 mi
2000 Natural 13,000 48.8 mi
2007 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 5,976 44.9 mi
2003 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 5,668 47.9 mi
2015 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 5,260 47.6 mi
2004 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 5,150 49.6 mi
2012 Natural 5,021 41.9 mi
2000 Natural 5,000 16.2 mi
2015 Natural 4,856 48.0 mi
2013 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 4,729 49.9 mi
2020 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 4,016 42.6 mi
1993 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 3,500 49.5 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Dayton do fires concentrate?

Top 10 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 77535 930
2 77523 3
3 77575 3
4 76574 2
5 77520 2
6 75442 1
7 75686 1
8 75803 1
9 75925 1
10 75936 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Dayton

Six Texas cities with population within ±25% of Dayton. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Dayton?

5 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Dayton.

Dayton VFD
PO Box 606
FDID PS503Volunteer
Kenefick VFD
PO Box 441
FDID PS208Volunteer
Hwy 321 VFD
9741 HWY 321 HWY
FDID PS206Volunteer
Westlake Community VFD
PO Box 395
FDID PS217
S Liberty Co Hazmat Emer
PO Box 26
FDID PS702
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.