Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Desert Hot Springs responded to 259 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $200K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 63% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Nov dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
1,641 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $12.8M cumulative property loss. 5 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 326 | — | |
| 2022 | 368 | +12.9% | |
| 2023 | 346 | -6.0% | |
| 2024 | 342 | -1.2% | |
| 2025 | 259 | -24.3% |
For the 24 building fires Desert Hot Springs departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 845 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 342 | 40.5% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 84 | 9.9% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 69 | 8.2% | |
| 4 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 60 | 7.1% | |
| 5 | Vehicle area, other | 25 | 3.0% | |
| 6 | Cooking area, kitchen | 23 | 2.7% | |
| 7 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 22 | 2.6% | |
| 8 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 21 | 2.5% | |
| 9 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 20 | 2.4% | |
| 10 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 19 | 2.2% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 160 | 18.9% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Desert Hot Springs mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 609 | 72.1% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 50 | 5.9% | |
| 3 | Heat source: other | 25 | 3.0% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 24 | 2.8% | |
| 5 | Cigarette lighter | 24 | 2.8% | |
| 6 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 15 | 1.8% | |
| 7 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 15 | 1.8% | |
| 8 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 13 | 1.5% | |
| 9 | Hot ember or ash | 9 | 1.1% | |
| 10 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 9 | 1.1% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 52 | 6.2% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Desert Hot Springs departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 63% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $200,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $200,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $150,000 | Outside storage fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $150,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $100,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $75,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $50,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $50,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Desert Hot Springs sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
16 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 3 | |
| 30-39 | 2 | |
| 40-49 | 5 | |
| 50-59 | 1 | |
| 60-69 | 3 | |
| 70-79 | 2 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 683,275 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2003 | Arson/incendiarism | 91,281 | 45.2 mi | |
| 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 65,000 | 40.2 mi | |
| 2006 | Natural | 61,700 | 12.9 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 51,000 | 24.8 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 40,200 | 13.4 mi | |
| 2020 | Equipment and vehicle use | 33,424 | 24.2 mi | |
| 1998 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 28,164 | 18.9 mi | |
| 2013 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 27,531 | 20.2 mi | |
| 1993 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 24,387 | 33.1 mi | |
| 2006 | Natural | 24,000 | 29.6 mi | |
| 1995 | Equipment and vehicle use | 23,455 | 8.5 mi | |
| 2020 | Fireworks | 22,744 | 26.7 mi |
Top 7 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Desert Hot Springs. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.