Ross Fire in North Texas Reaches 100% Containment After 90,000-Acre Run
The Ross Fire near Palo Pinto, Texas burned about 90,000 acres and destroyed at least 167 structures before crews fully contained it on Sept. 16.
In 2025, fire departments serving Kilgore responded to 219 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $500K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Kilgore's departments reported 219 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 386 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Unauthorized burning lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 52% of all calls.
Jan peaks. Oct dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
1,930 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $9.1M cumulative property loss. 7 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 363 | — | |
| 2022 | 546 | +50.4% | |
| 2023 | 445 | -18.5% | |
| 2024 | 357 | -19.8% | |
| 2025* | 219 | — |
* Well below Kilgore's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 22 building fires Kilgore departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 572 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 153 | 26.7% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 101 | 17.7% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 38 | 6.6% | |
| 4 | Vehicle area, other | 36 | 6.3% | |
| 5 | Wildland, woods | 36 | 6.3% | |
| 6 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 34 | 5.9% | |
| 7 | Cooking area, kitchen | 27 | 4.7% | |
| 8 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 18 | 3.1% | |
| 9 | Storage area, other | 9 | 1.6% | |
| 10 | Exterior, exposed surface | 9 | 1.6% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 111 | 19.4% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Kilgore mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 321 | 56.1% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 51 | 8.9% | |
| 3 | Hot ember or ash | 26 | 4.5% | |
| 4 | Heat spread from another fire, other | 25 | 4.4% | |
| 5 | Heat source: other | 16 | 2.8% | |
| 6 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 14 | 2.4% | |
| 7 | Flying brand, ember, spark | 14 | 2.4% | |
| 8 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 13 | 2.3% | |
| 9 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 12 | 2.1% | |
| 10 | Lightning | 12 | 2.1% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 68 | 11.9% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Kilgore departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 87% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $500,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $225,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $200,000 | Off-road vehicle or heavy equipment fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $187,150 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $150,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $110,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $100,000 | Fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $50,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Kilgore sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
11 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 1 | |
| 20-29 | 3 | |
| 30-39 | 1 | |
| 40-49 | 2 | |
| 50-59 | 1 | |
| 60-69 | 0 | |
| 70-79 | 0 | |
| 80+ | 3 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 72,059 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 41,050 | 46.9 mi | |
| 2011 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 6,550 | 45.0 mi | |
| 2011 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 3,341 | 7.8 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,324 | 20.9 mi | |
| 2011 | Natural | 2,314 | 44.0 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,036 | 41.4 mi | |
| 2011 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1,672 | 20.1 mi | |
| 2011 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1,556 | 10.0 mi | |
| 1996 | Recreation and ceremony | 1,500 | 38.8 mi | |
| 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,465 | 39.7 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,048 | 43.7 mi | |
| 2020 | Debris and open burning | 1,000 | 30.5 mi |
Top 10 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Texas cities with population within ±25% of Kilgore. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
4 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Kilgore.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.