Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving King City responded to 72 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Vehicle accident, general cleanup lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 57% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
335 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $1.1M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 53 | — | |
| 2022 | 66 | +24.5% | |
| 2023 | 62 | -6.1% | |
| 2024 | 82 | +32.3% | |
| 2025 | 72 | -12.2% |
For the 1 building fires King City departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 44 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 10 | 22.7% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 10 | 22.7% | |
| 3 | Outside area, other | 7 | 15.9% | |
| 4 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 4 | 9.1% | |
| 5 | Laundry area, wash house (laundry) | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 6 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 7 | Entrance way, lobby | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 8 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 9 | Storage room, area, tank, or bin | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 10 | Storage: supplies or tools; dead storage | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 5 | 11.4% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the King City mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 21 | 47.7% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 3 | Match | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 4 | Heat spread from another fire, other | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 5 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 6 | Incendiary device | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 7 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 8 | Chemical, natural heat source, other | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 9 | Heat source: other | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 10 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 4 | 9.1% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. King City sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 850,968 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2008 | Natural | 162,818 | 29.6 mi | |
| 2016 | Recreation and ceremony | 132,127 | 45.9 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 124,924 | 26.9 mi | |
| 2008 | Recreation and ceremony | 81,378 | 18.3 mi | |
| 1999 | Natural | 49,551 | 24.7 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 48,088 | 37.0 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 46,235 | 38.6 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 29,667 | 35.1 mi | |
| 1996 | Arson/incendiarism | 25,620 | 26.0 mi | |
| 1999 | Natural | 23,761 | 27.2 mi | |
| 1996 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 18,340 | 37.9 mi | |
| 2006 | Natural | 14,507 | 24.2 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of King City. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in King City.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.