Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Oak Park responded to 32 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Carbon monoxide incident lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 88% of all calls.
Aug peaks. Mar dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
117 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2025.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021* | 4 | — | |
| 2022 | 23 | — | |
| 2023 | 31 | +34.8% | |
| 2024 | 27 | -12.9% | |
| 2025 | 32 | +18.5% |
* Well below Oak Park's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 3 building fires Oak Park departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 44 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cooking area, kitchen | 8 | 18.2% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 5 | 11.4% | |
| 3 | Undetermined | 5 | 11.4% | |
| 4 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 5 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 6 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 7 | Function area, other | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 8 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 9 | Laundry area, wash house (laundry) | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 10 | Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 9 | 20.5% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Oak Park mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 12 | 27.3% | |
| 2 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 9 | 20.5% | |
| 3 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 9 | 20.5% | |
| 4 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 5 | Hot ember or ash | 3 | 6.8% | |
| 6 | Chemical reaction | 2 | 4.5% | |
| 7 | Heat source: other | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 8 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 9 | Arcing | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 10 | Cigarette | 1 | 2.3% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 2 | 4.5% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Oak Park sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,464,620 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 281,893 | 23.6 mi | |
| 2006 | Debris and open burning | 162,702 | 30.9 mi | |
| 2009 | Arson/incendiarism | 160,371 | 33.3 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 115,997 | 46.4 mi | |
| 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 108,204 | 14.9 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 96,949 | 5.4 mi | |
| 2003 | Equipment and vehicle use | 63,720 | 20.9 mi | |
| 2007 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 45,300 | 27.1 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 41,432 | 26.5 mi | |
| 2007 | Misuse of fire by a minor | 38,356 | 34.0 mi | |
| 1993 | Arson/incendiarism | 38,152 | 5.9 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 31,089 | 38.5 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Oak Park. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.