Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Orinda responded to 13 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Orinda's departments reported 13 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 25 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Passenger vehicle fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 69% of all calls.
Feb peaks. May dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
125 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $35K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 50 | — | |
| 2022 | 16 | -68.0% | |
| 2023 | 17 | +6.2% | |
| 2024 | 29 | +70.6% | |
| 2025* | 13 | — |
* Well below Orinda's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 1 building fires Orinda departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 26 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 11 | 42.3% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 6 | 23.1% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 4 | 15.4% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 1 | 3.8% | |
| 5 | Laundry area, wash house (laundry) | 1 | 3.8% | |
| 6 | Vehicle area, other | 1 | 3.8% | |
| 7 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 1 | 3.8% | |
| 8 | Wildland, woods | 1 | 3.8% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Orinda mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 15 | 57.7% | |
| 2 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 4 | 15.4% | |
| 3 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 3 | 11.5% | |
| 4 | Heat source: other | 2 | 7.7% | |
| 5 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 1 | 3.8% | |
| 6 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 1 | 3.8% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Orinda sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 995,875 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 396,624 | 46.0 mi | |
| 2020 | Natural | 305,651 | 43.9 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 86,509 | 43.1 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 56,556 | 39.8 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 51,624 | 35.5 mi | |
| 1995 | Recreation and ceremony | 12,354 | 40.4 mi | |
| 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 12,200 | 39.0 mi | |
| 2015 | Equipment and vehicle use | 8,051 | 43.3 mi | |
| 2003 | Equipment and vehicle use | 6,804 | 48.2 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 6,744 | 34.5 mi | |
| 2014 | Fireworks | 6,488 | 43.8 mi | |
| 2000 | Equipment and vehicle use | 5,731 | 46.6 mi |
Top 2 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Orinda. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.