Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Pioneer responded to 46 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $150K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Forest, woods or wildland fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 52% of all calls.
Jul peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
294 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $1.3M cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 58 | — | |
| 2022 | 49 | -15.5% | |
| 2023 | 86 | +75.5% | |
| 2024 | 55 | -36.0% | |
| 2025 | 46 | -16.4% |
For the 5 building fires Pioneer departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 79 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 13 | 16.5% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 11 | 13.9% | |
| 3 | Other | 9 | 11.4% | |
| 4 | Vehicle area, other | 8 | 10.1% | |
| 5 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 7 | 8.9% | |
| 6 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 5 | 6.3% | |
| 7 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 8 | Function area, other | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 9 | Structural area, other | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 10 | Exterior balcony, unenclosed porch | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 14 | 17.7% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Pioneer mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 31 | 39.2% | |
| 2 | Hot ember or ash | 10 | 12.7% | |
| 3 | Heat source: other | 8 | 10.1% | |
| 4 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 7 | 8.9% | |
| 5 | Arcing | 5 | 6.3% | |
| 6 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 5 | 6.3% | |
| 7 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 8 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 3 | 3.8% | |
| 9 | Cigarette lighter | 2 | 2.5% | |
| 10 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 1.3% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 4 | 5.1% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Pioneer departments in 2025. These 6 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $150,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $50,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $12,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $3,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $500 | Fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $50 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Pioneer sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 729,067 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 255,858 | 48.1 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 97,717 | 24.8 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 70,868 | 8.7 mi | |
| 2018 | Natural | 36,450 | 36.1 mi | |
| 2013 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 27,440 | 47.5 mi | |
| 1992 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 24,580 | 24.7 mi | |
| 1996 | Natural | 22,080 | 44.3 mi | |
| 1992 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 18,000 | 18.4 mi | |
| 2015 | Natural | 17,790 | 46.5 mi | |
| 2004 | Equipment and vehicle use | 16,823 | 21.2 mi | |
| 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 16,761 | 42.7 mi | |
| 2001 | Recreation and ceremony | 14,500 | 48.6 mi |
Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Pioneer. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.