Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Salton City responded to 23 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Salton City's departments reported 23 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 51 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Fire, other lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 61% of all calls.
Apr peaks. Aug dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
255 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $138K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 85 | — | |
| 2022 | 54 | -36.5% | |
| 2023 | 45 | -16.7% | |
| 2024 | 48 | +6.7% | |
| 2025* | 23 | — |
* Well below Salton City's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 0 building fires Salton City departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 200 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 64 | 32.0% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 62 | 31.0% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 22 | 11.0% | |
| 4 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 12 | 6.0% | |
| 5 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 9 | 4.5% | |
| 6 | Vehicle area, other | 8 | 4.0% | |
| 7 | Other | 4 | 2.0% | |
| 8 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 2 | 1.0% | |
| 9 | Storage: supplies or tools; dead storage | 2 | 1.0% | |
| 10 | Wall assembly | 2 | 1.0% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 13 | 6.5% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Salton City mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 148 | 74.0% | |
| 2 | Heat source: other | 13 | 6.5% | |
| 3 | Match | 8 | 4.0% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 5 | 2.5% | |
| 5 | Arcing | 5 | 2.5% | |
| 6 | Hot ember or ash | 4 | 2.0% | |
| 7 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 3 | 1.5% | |
| 8 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 3 | 1.5% | |
| 9 | Heat, spark from friction | 3 | 1.5% | |
| 10 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 1 | 0.5% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 7 | 3.5% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Salton City sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 675,202 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2003 | Recreation and ceremony | 280,059 | 49.4 mi | |
| 2007 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 197,990 | 46.1 mi | |
| 2002 | Equipment and vehicle use | 61,690 | 37.9 mi | |
| 1994 | Natural | 20,901 | 39.2 mi | |
| 2003 | Natural | 19,575 | 46.2 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 14,100 | 33.4 mi | |
| 2003 | Debris and open burning | 12,000 | 29.8 mi | |
| 2012 | Natural | 10,632 | 33.3 mi | |
| 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | 8,500 | 42.9 mi | |
| 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 7,083 | 35.7 mi | |
| 2013 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7,056 | 36.8 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5,132 | 38.4 mi |
Top 4 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Salton City. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.