Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Santa Fe Springs responded to 152 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $100K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Outside rubbish fire, other lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 61% of all calls.
Oct peaks. May dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
703 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $5.6M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 214 | — | |
| 2022 | 130 | -39.3% | |
| 2023* | 11 | — | |
| 2024 | 196 | — | |
| 2025 | 152 | -22.4% |
* Well below Santa Fe Springs's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 9 building fires Santa Fe Springs departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 111 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 30 | 27.0% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 18 | 16.2% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 13 | 11.7% | |
| 4 | Vehicle area, other | 9 | 8.1% | |
| 5 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 4 | 3.6% | |
| 6 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 4 | 3.6% | |
| 7 | Other | 3 | 2.7% | |
| 8 | Equipment or service area, other | 3 | 2.7% | |
| 9 | Cooking area, kitchen | 2 | 1.8% | |
| 10 | Technical processing areas, other | 2 | 1.8% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 23 | 20.7% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Santa Fe Springs mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 75 | 67.6% | |
| 2 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 11 | 9.9% | |
| 3 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 6 | 5.4% | |
| 4 | Arcing | 5 | 4.5% | |
| 5 | Heat source: other | 4 | 3.6% | |
| 6 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 2 | 1.8% | |
| 7 | Hot ember or ash | 2 | 1.8% | |
| 8 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 1 | 0.9% | |
| 9 | Heat, spark from friction | 1 | 0.9% | |
| 10 | Cigarette | 1 | 0.9% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 3 | 2.7% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Santa Fe Springs departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 96% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $100,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 2 | $80,000 | Fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $30,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $20,000 | Fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $15,000 | Mobile property (vehicle) fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $15,000 | Mobile property (vehicle) fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $10,000 | Fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $5,000 | Outside storage fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Santa Fe Springs sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 1,120,412 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2009 | Arson/incendiarism | 160,371 | 22.6 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 115,997 | 22.6 mi | |
| 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 108,204 | 46.6 mi | |
| 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 96,949 | 42.2 mi | |
| 2003 | Arson/incendiarism | 91,281 | 48.6 mi | |
| 2003 | Arson/incendiarism | 59,788 | 37.0 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 41,432 | 39.5 mi | |
| 2007 | Misuse of fire by a minor | 38,356 | 43.7 mi | |
| 1993 | Arson/incendiarism | 38,152 | 48.8 mi | |
| 2002 | Arson/incendiarism | 37,240 | 25.9 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 36,274 | 41.2 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 30,305 | 19.0 mi |
Top 9 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Santa Fe Springs. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.