Senators Warn Federal Firefighting Budget Nearly Exhausted With Fire Season Not Over
Five senators told Interior and USDA the $6 billion FY2026 fire suppression budget was nearly spent by Sept. 2, citing staffing gaps and firefighter deaths.
In 2025, fire departments serving Scappoose responded to 24 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Scappoose's departments reported 24 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 76 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Authorized controlled burning lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 92% of all calls.
Dec peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
378 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $1.5M cumulative property loss. 3 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 140 | — | |
| 2022 | 81 | -42.1% | |
| 2023 | 107 | +32.1% | |
| 2024* | 26 | — | |
| 2025* | 24 | — |
* Well below Scappoose's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 1 building fires Scappoose departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 85 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 11 | 12.9% | |
| 2 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 11 | 12.9% | |
| 3 | Cooking area, kitchen | 7 | 8.2% | |
| 4 | Undetermined | 7 | 8.2% | |
| 5 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 5 | 5.9% | |
| 6 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 4 | 4.7% | |
| 7 | Attic: vacant, crawl space above top story, cupola | 4 | 4.7% | |
| 8 | Outside area, other | 4 | 4.7% | |
| 9 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 4 | 4.7% | |
| 10 | Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room | 3 | 3.5% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 25 | 29.4% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Scappoose mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 19 | 22.4% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 18 | 21.2% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 9 | 10.6% | |
| 4 | Hot ember or ash | 9 | 10.6% | |
| 5 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 6 | 7.1% | |
| 6 | Heat source: other | 5 | 5.9% | |
| 7 | Cigarette | 5 | 5.9% | |
| 8 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 4 | 4.7% | |
| 9 | Candle | 3 | 3.5% | |
| 10 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 2 | 2.4% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 5 | 5.9% |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Scappoose sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
6 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 2 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 0 | |
| 30-39 | 1 | |
| 40-49 | 1 | |
| 50-59 | 0 | |
| 60-69 | 1 | |
| 70-79 | 1 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 64,226 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 24,995 | 44.5 mi | |
| 1992 | Smoking | 24,400 | 45.7 mi | |
| 2001 | Natural | 7,500 | 18.8 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,584 | 41.6 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1,508 | 37.4 mi | |
| 2020 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 497 | 44.7 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 450 | 42.8 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 260 | 38.7 mi | |
| 2015 | Recreation and ceremony | 215 | 48.3 mi | |
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 211 | 24.8 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 166 | 10.7 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 145 | 30.3 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Oregon cities with population within ±25% of Scappoose. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.