Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Shingle Springs responded to 16 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $18K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Forest, woods or wildland fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 81% of all calls.
Jun peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
123 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $32K cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 39 | — | |
| 2022 | 31 | -20.5% | |
| 2023 | 28 | -9.7% | |
| 2024* | 9 | — | |
| 2025 | 16 | — |
* Well below Shingle Springs's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 2 building fires Shingle Springs departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 12 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 5 | 41.7% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 2 | 16.7% | |
| 3 | Cooking area, kitchen | 1 | 8.3% | |
| 4 | Structural area, other | 1 | 8.3% | |
| 5 | Vehicle area, other | 1 | 8.3% | |
| 6 | Exterior, exposed surface | 1 | 8.3% | |
| 7 | Undetermined | 1 | 8.3% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Shingle Springs mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 5 | 41.7% | |
| 2 | Heat source: other | 3 | 25.0% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 1 | 8.3% | |
| 4 | Hot ember or ash | 1 | 8.3% | |
| 5 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 1 | 8.3% | |
| 6 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 1 | 8.3% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Shingle Springs departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $18,250 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Shingle Springs sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 393,666 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 97,717 | 20.0 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 70,868 | 25.9 mi | |
| 2013 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 27,440 | 35.0 mi | |
| 1992 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 24,580 | 27.3 mi | |
| 1992 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 18,000 | 38.8 mi | |
| 2004 | Equipment and vehicle use | 16,823 | 40.4 mi | |
| 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 16,761 | 34.8 mi | |
| 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 14,280 | 47.9 mi | |
| 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | 11,789 | 42.5 mi | |
| 2008 | Natural | 10,836 | 37.4 mi | |
| 1996 | Arson/incendiarism | 9,820 | 12.2 mi | |
| 2008 | Natural | 9,164 | 41.0 mi |
Top 3 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Shingle Springs. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.