In 2025, fire departments serving Spring City responded to 24 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $150K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. Spring City's departments reported 24 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 47 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 79% of all calls.
May peaks. Jan dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
233 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $479K cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 67 | — | |
| 2022 | 54 | -19.4% | |
| 2023 | 52 | -3.7% | |
| 2024 | 36 | -30.8% | |
| 2025* | 24 | — |
* Well below Spring City's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 8 building fires Spring City departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 56 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 12 | 21.4% | |
| 2 | Other | 10 | 17.9% | |
| 3 | Undetermined | 8 | 14.3% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 6 | 10.7% | |
| 5 | Wildland, woods | 3 | 5.4% | |
| 6 | Common room, den, family room, living room, lounge | 2 | 3.6% | |
| 7 | Vehicle area, other | 2 | 3.6% | |
| 8 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 2 | 3.6% | |
| 9 | Corridor, mall | 1 | 1.8% | |
| 10 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 1 | 1.8% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 9 | 16.1% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Spring City mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 26 | 46.4% | |
| 2 | Hot ember or ash | 12 | 21.4% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 5 | 8.9% | |
| 4 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 3 | 5.4% | |
| 5 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 3 | 5.4% | |
| 6 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 2 | 3.6% | |
| 7 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 2 | 3.6% | |
| 8 | Heat source: other | 1 | 1.8% | |
| 9 | Cigarette | 1 | 1.8% | |
| 10 | Heat from undetermined smoking material | 1 | 1.8% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Spring City departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $150,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Spring City sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 6,913 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2014 | Arson/incendiarism | 910 | 49.1 mi | |
| 2015 | Equipment and vehicle use | 848 | 42.6 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 741 | 11.6 mi | |
| 2002 | Arson/incendiarism | 740 | 48.9 mi | |
| 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 470 | 28.5 mi | |
| 2012 | Arson/incendiarism | 390 | 49.8 mi | |
| 2003 | Arson/incendiarism | 343 | 48.5 mi | |
| 2005 | Arson/incendiarism | 325 | 48.6 mi | |
| 1995 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 325 | 43.2 mi | |
| 1992 | Arson/incendiarism | 250 | 45.1 mi | |
| 2002 | Natural | 250 | 43.5 mi | |
| 2000 | Arson/incendiarism | 150 | 43.7 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 19475 | 233 |
Six Pennsylvania cities with population within ±25% of Spring City. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
3 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Spring City.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.