In 2025, fire departments serving Springdale responded to 623 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $300K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Unauthorized burning lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 53% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Feb dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
2,902 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2024. $10.6M cumulative property loss. 3 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 420 | — | |
| 2022 | 587 | +39.8% | |
| 2023 | 609 | +3.7% | |
| 2024 | 663 | +8.9% | |
| 2025 | 623 | -6.0% |
For the 60 building fires Springdale departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 690 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 149 | 21.6% | |
| 2 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 72 | 10.4% | |
| 3 | Undetermined | 66 | 9.6% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 54 | 7.8% | |
| 5 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 28 | 4.1% | |
| 6 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 24 | 3.5% | |
| 7 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 21 | 3.0% | |
| 8 | Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste | 18 | 2.6% | |
| 9 | Wall surface: exterior | 18 | 2.6% | |
| 10 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 18 | 2.6% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 222 | 32.2% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Springdale mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 220 | 31.9% | |
| 2 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 105 | 15.2% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 69 | 10.0% | |
| 4 | Hot ember or ash | 55 | 8.0% | |
| 5 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 37 | 5.4% | |
| 6 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 27 | 3.9% | |
| 7 | Cigarette lighter | 21 | 3.0% | |
| 8 | Fireworks | 20 | 2.9% | |
| 9 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 19 | 2.8% | |
| 10 | Cigarette | 15 | 2.2% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 102 | 14.8% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Springdale departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 58% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $300,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $300,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Major | Investigated |
| 3 | $254,645 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 4 | $150,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $141,137 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $100,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $100,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $100,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Springdale sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
58 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 4 | |
| 10-19 | 7 | |
| 20-29 | 4 | |
| 30-39 | 14 | |
| 40-49 | 5 | |
| 50-59 | 7 | |
| 60-69 | 10 | |
| 70-79 | 6 | |
| 80+ | 1 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 50,223 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4,050 | 45.1 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3,800 | 29.0 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 3,285 | 35.5 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 3,240 | 42.3 mi | |
| 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,770 | 44.0 mi | |
| 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2,580 | 46.8 mi | |
| 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,310 | 48.9 mi | |
| 2011 | Debris and open burning | 2,135 | 41.9 mi | |
| 2013 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,108 | 37.9 mi | |
| 1995 | Debris and open burning | 2,085 | 38.9 mi | |
| 2009 | Arson/incendiarism | 2,000 | 41.3 mi | |
| 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,920 | 45.7 mi |
Top 10 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Arkansas cities with population within ±25% of Springdale. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
2 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Springdale.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.