Home› Arizona› Sun City
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Sun City, Arizona

In 2025, fire departments serving Sun City responded to 62 fire and hazmat incidents . Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade A- Peak yr 2021 Maricopa County 37,748 residents 1 reporting departments 655 5-yr

Incomplete 2025 data. Sun City's departments reported 62 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 131 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.

Total incidents
62
Not comparable with 2024 (incomplete reporting)
Building fires
23
Residential 65% Other 35%
Property loss
$0
$0 structure · $0 contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 33
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 33 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 92% of all calls.

62
Total Incidents
Building fires 23 37.1%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 20 32.3%
Carbon monoxide incident 8 12.9%
Fire, other 4 6.5%
Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire 2 3.2%
All other categories 5 8.1%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Oct peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 3
Feb 3
Mar 4
Apr 10
May 4
Jun 12
Jul 5
Aug 2
Sep 4
Oct 14
Nov 1
Dec 0
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Sun City

655 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $209K cumulative property loss. 2 civilian deaths.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 207 —
2022 188 -9.2%
2023 97 -48.4%
2024 101 +4.1%
2025* 62 —

* Well below Sun City's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.

03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 23 building fires Sun City departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Sun City?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 194 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 36 18.6%
2 Outside area, other 29 14.9%
3 Cooking area, kitchen 17 8.8%
4 Vehicle area, other 12 6.2%
5 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 11 5.7%
6 Vehicle storage area; garage, carport 9 4.6%
7 Other 6 3.1%
8 Bathroom, checkroom, lavatory, locker room 5 2.6%
9 Structural area, other 5 2.6%
10 Highway, parking lot, street: on or near 5 2.6%
11 All other areas 59 30.4%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Sun City mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 96 49.5%
2 Arcing 19 9.8%
3 Heat from powered equipment, other 15 7.7%
4 Heat source: other 14 7.2%
5 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 11 5.7%
6 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 10 5.2%
7 Cigarette 5 2.6%
8 Hot or smoldering object, other 4 2.1%
9 Lightning 4 2.1%
10 Heat from direct flame, convection currents 4 2.1%
11 All other sources 12 6.2%
05 How Sun City compares

Sun City vs Arizona vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Sun City sits below the national average for incidents per resident.

1.64
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Sun City
1.64
AZ avg
4.85
US avg
7.48
0.61
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Sun City
0.61
AZ avg
0.46
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Sun City
0
AZ avg
3
US avg
5.9
5b Who gets hurt

Casualty demographics in Sun City

159 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.

AgeCount 
0-9 0
10-19 0
20-29 31
30-39 40
40-49 61
50-59 25
60-69 0
70-79 2
80+ 0
Civilian vs firefighter
Civilian 2 FF 157
Gender
M 151 F 8 Unk 0
Severity (1=minor → 5=fatal)
157
1
0
2
0
3
0
4
2
5
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Sun City

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 766,527 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2005 Natural 248,310 36.3 mi
2020 Equipment and vehicle use 193,455 41.4 mi
2005 Natural 72,000 47.0 mi
2017 Natural 33,550 39.4 mi
1995 Natural 24,505 29.8 mi
1995 Natural 22,092 46.3 mi
2012 Other causes 16,240 42.8 mi
2005 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 14,534 36.5 mi
2020 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 14,476 32.6 mi
2020 Natural 12,252 33.3 mi
2005 Natural 10,482 41.4 mi
2008 Recreation and ceremony 9,629 38.6 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Sun City do fires concentrate?

Top 5 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 85351 524
2 85373 84
3 85335 35
4 85378 9
5 85374 3
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Sun City

Six Arizona cities with population within ±25% of Sun City. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

06 First responders

Who responds in Sun City?

1 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Sun City.

Sun City Fire and Medical Department
18602 N 99th Avenue AVE
FDID 0825367 paid · 10 volunteer
07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.