In 2025, fire departments serving Claremore responded to 348 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $600K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Grass fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 59% of all calls.
Mar peaks. Dec dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
2,150 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $4.8M cumulative property loss. 2 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 425 | — | |
| 2022 | 493 | +16.0% | |
| 2023 | 488 | -1.0% | |
| 2024 | 396 | -18.9% | |
| 2025 | 348 | -12.1% |
For the 35 building fires Claremore departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 802 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 196 | 24.4% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 137 | 17.1% | |
| 3 | Undetermined | 91 | 11.3% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 45 | 5.6% | |
| 5 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 44 | 5.5% | |
| 6 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 42 | 5.2% | |
| 7 | Wildland, woods | 38 | 4.7% | |
| 8 | Other | 23 | 2.9% | |
| 9 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 17 | 2.1% | |
| 10 | Vehicle area, other | 16 | 2.0% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 153 | 19.1% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Claremore mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 316 | 39.4% | |
| 2 | Hot ember or ash | 103 | 12.8% | |
| 3 | Arcing | 59 | 7.4% | |
| 4 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 39 | 4.9% | |
| 5 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 34 | 4.2% | |
| 6 | Heat source: other | 29 | 3.6% | |
| 7 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 29 | 3.6% | |
| 8 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 24 | 3.0% | |
| 9 | Flying brand, ember, spark | 24 | 3.0% | |
| 10 | Cigarette lighter | 20 | 2.5% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 125 | 15.6% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Claremore departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 82% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $600,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $250,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 3 | $200,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $180,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $175,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $125,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $85,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $75,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Claremore sits above the national average for incidents per resident.
6 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 1 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 2 | |
| 30-39 | 2 | |
| 40-49 | 0 | |
| 50-59 | 0 | |
| 60-69 | 0 | |
| 70-79 | 0 | |
| 80+ | 1 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 213,223 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 22,787 | 34.6 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 14,000 | 46.7 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 14,000 | 42.9 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 12,468 | 41.7 mi | |
| 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 11,258 | 33.6 mi | |
| 2018 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 10,816 | 38.1 mi | |
| 2009 | Debris and open burning | 10,216 | 39.1 mi | |
| 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | 9,636 | 38.2 mi | |
| 2018 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 8,792 | 45.2 mi | |
| 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 8,500 | 48.0 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 8,080 | 45.1 mi | |
| 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7,722 | 43.6 mi |
Top 8 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six Oklahoma cities with population within ±25% of Claremore. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
5 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Claremore.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.