Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving Indio responded to 365 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $2.0M building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 64% of all calls.
Jan peaks. Mar dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
2,080 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $24.1M cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 460 | — | |
| 2022 | 405 | -12.0% | |
| 2023 | 428 | +5.7% | |
| 2024 | 422 | -1.4% | |
| 2025 | 365 | -13.5% |
For the 20 building fires Indio departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 1,101 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Outside area, other | 191 | 17.3% | |
| 2 | Undetermined | 180 | 16.3% | |
| 3 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 131 | 11.9% | |
| 4 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 130 | 11.8% | |
| 5 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 65 | 5.9% | |
| 6 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 31 | 2.8% | |
| 7 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 29 | 2.6% | |
| 8 | Courtyard, patio, porch, terrace | 29 | 2.6% | |
| 9 | Other | 28 | 2.5% | |
| 10 | Cooking area, kitchen | 28 | 2.5% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 259 | 23.5% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Indio mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 665 | 60.4% | |
| 2 | Arcing | 87 | 7.9% | |
| 3 | Cigarette lighter | 43 | 3.9% | |
| 4 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 42 | 3.8% | |
| 5 | Heat source: other | 39 | 3.5% | |
| 6 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 36 | 3.3% | |
| 7 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 35 | 3.2% | |
| 8 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 26 | 2.4% | |
| 9 | Hot ember or ash | 17 | 1.5% | |
| 10 | Fireworks | 16 | 1.5% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 95 | 8.6% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Indio departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 73% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $2,000,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $900,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 3 | $400,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 4 | $365,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 5 | $300,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 6 | $250,000 | Building fires | Major | Investigated |
| 7 | $200,000 | Special outside fire, other | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $200,000 | Road freight or transport vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Indio sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
5 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 0 | |
| 30-39 | 3 | |
| 40-49 | 0 | |
| 50-59 | 0 | |
| 60-69 | 2 | |
| 70-79 | 0 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 614,336 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2006 | Natural | 61,700 | 32.5 mi | |
| 2002 | Equipment and vehicle use | 61,690 | 47.9 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 51,000 | 48.1 mi | |
| 2007 | Other causes | 49,390 | 48.3 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 40,200 | 32.6 mi | |
| 2020 | Equipment and vehicle use | 33,424 | 45.4 mi | |
| 1998 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 28,164 | 38.2 mi | |
| 2013 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 27,531 | 28.4 mi | |
| 1993 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 24,387 | 45.1 mi | |
| 1995 | Equipment and vehicle use | 23,455 | 30.2 mi | |
| 2020 | Fireworks | 22,744 | 48.8 mi | |
| 1994 | Natural | 20,901 | 17.1 mi |
Top 10 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of Indio. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.