Home› Arkansas› Prairie Grove
2025 Annual Fire Report

Fires in Prairie Grove, Arkansas

In 2025, fire departments serving Prairie Grove responded to 116 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $300K building blaze. Here's the full picture.

Updated Sep 27, 2026 Grade B Peak yr 2022 Washington County 7,131 residents 0 reporting departments 495 5-yr
Total incidents
116
+17.2% vs 2024
Building fires
36
Residential 67% Other 33%
Property loss
$1.6M
$1.3M structure · $343K contents
Deaths & injuries
0 / 0
0 civilian deaths · 0 civ injuries · 0 firefighter injuries
01 The mix

What kinds of fires happen here?

Building fires lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 60% of all calls.

116
Total Incidents
Building fires 36 31.0%
Grass fire 10 8.6%
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) 10 8.6%
Authorized controlled burning 8 6.9%
Passenger vehicle fire 6 5.2%
All other categories 46 39.7%
02 Seasonality

When do fires happen?

Mar peaks. Nov dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.

Jan 13
Feb 12
Mar 27
Apr 16
May 7
Jun 4
Jul 8
Aug 11
Sep 11
Oct 5
Nov 1
Dec 1
Fewer
More
2b Five-year trend

Year over year in Prairie Grove

495 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2022. $2.3M cumulative property loss.

YearIncidentsYoY 
2021 83 —
2022 116 +39.8%
2023 81 -30.2%
2024 99 +22.2%
2025 116 +17.2%
03 Cause of ignition

What sparks building fires?

For the 36 building fires Prairie Grove departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.

Unintentional
30%
10
Cause undetermined
27%
9
Intentional / arson
3%
1
Equipment / heat source failure
3%
1
Under investigation
33%
11
Act of nature (lightning)
4%
1
3b Where fires start

Where do fires start in Prairie Grove?

NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 134 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.

#Area of originCountShare 
1 Undetermined 81 60.4%
2 Outside area, other 7 5.2%
3 Other 6 4.5%
4 Cooking area, kitchen 6 4.5%
5 Engine area, running gear, wheel area 4 3.0%
6 Open area - outside; included are farmland, field 4 3.0%
7 Wall surface: exterior 3 2.2%
8 Function area, other 2 1.5%
9 Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison 2 1.5%
10 Storage area, other 2 1.5%
11 All other areas 17 12.7%
3c What ignited it

What actually ignited the fire?

NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Prairie Grove mix.

#Heat sourceCountShare 
1 Undetermined 100 74.6%
2 Hot ember or ash 9 6.7%
3 Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment 4 3.0%
4 Heat from powered equipment, other 3 2.2%
5 Hot or smoldering object, other 3 2.2%
6 Heat source: other 2 1.5%
7 Arcing 2 1.5%
8 Chemical reaction 2 1.5%
9 Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment 1 0.7%
10 Explosive, fireworks, other 1 0.7%
11 All other sources 7 5.2%
04 The biggest fires

8 fires · $1.1M in losses

Largest single-incident property losses reported by Prairie Grove departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 82% of the city's annual total.

# Property loss Type Severity Status
1 $300,000 Building fires Major Investigated
2 $180,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
3 $150,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
4 $125,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
5 $100,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
6 $100,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
7 $70,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
8 $50,000 Building fires Significant Investigated
05 How Prairie Grove compares

Prairie Grove vs Arkansas vs the nation

Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Prairie Grove sits above the national average for incidents per resident.

16.27
Incidents per 1,000 residents
Prairie Grove
16.27
AR avg
11.9
US avg
7.48
5.05
Building fires per 1,000 residents
Prairie Grove
5.05
AR avg
1.61
US avg
0.85
0
Civilian fire deaths per million
Prairie Grove
0
AR avg
16.6
US avg
5.9
5c Wildfires nearby

Wildfires within 50 mi of Prairie Grove

Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 70,858 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.

50 mi radius
YearCauseAcresDistance 
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 14,000 49.1 mi
2001 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 4,050 31.4 mi
2017 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 3,800 15.0 mi
2017 Arson/incendiarism 3,700 49.0 mi
2016 Arson/incendiarism 3,285 26.0 mi
2006 Arson/incendiarism 3,240 26.0 mi
2010 Arson/incendiarism 3,200 48.1 mi
2010 Missing data/not specified/undetermined 3,200 46.6 mi
1995 Arson/incendiarism 2,770 27.7 mi
2017 Arson/incendiarism 2,500 47.0 mi
1995 Arson/incendiarism 2,310 38.9 mi
2011 Debris and open burning 2,135 25.5 mi
5d Top ZIPs

Where in Prairie Grove do fires concentrate?

Top 8 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.

#ZIP5-yr incidents 
1 72753 472
2 72730 10
3 72774 6
4 72762 2
5 72704 1
6 72744 1
7 72759 1
8 72959 1
5e Peer cities

Cities similar to Prairie Grove

Six Arkansas cities with population within ±25% of Prairie Grove. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.

07 Stay prepared

Before the next Red Flag day.

A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.

About this data

Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.