In 2025, fire departments serving Jeffersonville responded to 312 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $3K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Gas leak (natural gas or LPG) lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 56% of all calls.
Jul peaks. Sep dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
1,742 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2023. $154K cumulative property loss. 1 civilian deaths.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 306 | — | |
| 2022 | 368 | +20.3% | |
| 2023 | 393 | +6.8% | |
| 2024 | 363 | -7.6% | |
| 2025 | 312 | -14.0% |
For the 27 building fires Jeffersonville departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 641 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 112 | 17.5% | |
| 2 | Outside area, other | 110 | 17.2% | |
| 3 | Open area - outside; included are farmland, field | 80 | 12.5% | |
| 4 | Cooking area, kitchen | 62 | 9.7% | |
| 5 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 42 | 6.6% | |
| 6 | Vehicle area, other | 22 | 3.4% | |
| 7 | Highway, parking lot, street: on or near | 22 | 3.4% | |
| 8 | Wildland, woods | 22 | 3.4% | |
| 9 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 18 | 2.8% | |
| 10 | Chute/container - trash, rubbish, waste | 16 | 2.5% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 135 | 21.1% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the Jeffersonville mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 377 | 58.8% | |
| 2 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 32 | 5.0% | |
| 3 | Heat source: other | 31 | 4.8% | |
| 4 | Cigarette lighter | 31 | 4.8% | |
| 5 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 30 | 4.7% | |
| 6 | Arcing | 25 | 3.9% | |
| 7 | Cigarette | 20 | 3.1% | |
| 8 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 15 | 2.3% | |
| 9 | Hot ember or ash | 12 | 1.9% | |
| 10 | Heat from direct flame, convection currents | 10 | 1.6% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 58 | 9.0% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by Jeffersonville departments in 2025. These 1 fires alone account for 100% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $3,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. Jeffersonville sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 4,573 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 870 | 47.9 mi | |
| 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 450 | 47.7 mi | |
| 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | 354 | 28.8 mi | |
| 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 300 | 47.9 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 280 | 49.0 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 250 | 25.4 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 220 | 47.9 mi | |
| 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | 200 | 47.4 mi | |
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 182 | 42.4 mi | |
| 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 157 | 37.9 mi | |
| 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 144 | 27.4 mi | |
| 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 100 | 48.5 mi |
Top 1 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
| # | ZIP | 5-yr incidents | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 47130 | 1,742 |
Six Indiana cities with population within ±25% of Jeffersonville. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
3 departments report to NFIRS for incidents in Jeffersonville.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.