Dome Fire Reaches 6,632 Acres in Yosemite, 40% Contained as of Oct. 3
The Dome Fire has burned 6,632 acres in Yosemite National Park and is 40% contained as of Oct. 3, with 765 personnel assigned; Glacier Point Road stays closed.
In 2025, fire departments serving San Bernardino responded to 114 fire and hazmat incidents — from cooking fires to gas leaks to a single $250K building blaze. Here's the full picture.
Incomplete 2025 data. San Bernardino's departments reported 114 incidents to NFIRS for 2025, against about 1,061 in a typical year, so 2025 figures on this page undercount. The 2021–2025 totals are the better guide.
Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire lead by count. Building fires lead by dollars. Together the top five categories make up about 60% of all calls.
Nov peaks. May dips. Watch for the typical fall climb starting in October.
5,303 incidents 2021–2025. Peak year was 2021. $23.2M cumulative property loss.
| Year | Incidents | YoY | |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 2,534 | — | |
| 2022 | 2,222 | -12.3% | |
| 2023* | 241 | — | |
| 2024* | 192 | — | |
| 2025* | 114 | — |
* Well below San Bernardino's usual volume. That almost always means one or more departments didn't submit a full year to NFIRS, not that fires dropped, so no year-over-year change is shown for it.
For the 7 building fires San Bernardino departments responded to in 2025, here's how they were classified once investigators were finished.
NFIRS Area of Origin (AREA_ORIG) for the 1,008 building fires investigators classified across 2021–2025. The room or location where ignition occurred — kitchens, bedrooms, exterior, vehicle areas — tells you where to focus prevention.
| # | Area of origin | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 510 | 50.6% | |
| 2 | Engine area, running gear, wheel area | 130 | 12.9% | |
| 3 | Outside area, other | 67 | 6.6% | |
| 4 | Bedroom - < 5 persons; included are jail or prison | 31 | 3.1% | |
| 5 | Operator/passenger area of transportation equip. | 30 | 3.0% | |
| 6 | Vehicle area, other | 26 | 2.6% | |
| 7 | Vehicle storage area; garage, carport | 17 | 1.7% | |
| 8 | Cargo/trunk area - all vehicles | 15 | 1.5% | |
| 9 | Other | 14 | 1.4% | |
| 10 | Cooking area, kitchen | 13 | 1.3% | |
| 11 | All other areas | 155 | 15.4% |
NFIRS Heat Source (HEAT_SOURC) — the physical thing that started it. Spark or ember from operating equipment, an open flame, smoking materials, or hot embers from a fireplace are the leading culprits nationwide. Here's the San Bernardino mix.
| # | Heat source | Count | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Undetermined | 768 | 76.2% | |
| 2 | Heat from powered equipment, other | 43 | 4.3% | |
| 3 | Hot or smoldering object, other | 41 | 4.1% | |
| 4 | Heat source: other | 38 | 3.8% | |
| 5 | Arcing | 31 | 3.1% | |
| 6 | Radiated, conducted heat from operating equipment | 17 | 1.7% | |
| 7 | Spark, ember or flame from operating equipment | 11 | 1.1% | |
| 8 | Hot ember or ash | 10 | 1.0% | |
| 9 | Heat from other open flame or smoking materials | 10 | 1.0% | |
| 10 | Heat, spark from friction | 6 | 0.6% | |
| 11 | All other sources | 33 | 3.3% |
Largest single-incident property losses reported by San Bernardino departments in 2025. These 8 fires alone account for 95% of the city's annual total.
| # | Property loss | Type | Severity | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $250,000 | Outside rubbish, trash or waste fire | Major | Investigated |
| 2 | $200,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 3 | $125,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 4 | $100,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 5 | $40,000 | Building fires | Significant | Investigated |
| 6 | $20,000 | Outside storage fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 7 | $10,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
| 8 | $10,000 | Passenger vehicle fire | Significant | Investigated |
Per-capita rates let us compare apples to apples. San Bernardino sits below the national average for incidents per resident.
6 fire-related casualties recorded in NFIRS Module 11 across the 2021–2025 window. Age, gender, and severity are coarse-binned — no individual identification possible.
| Age | Count | |
|---|---|---|
| 0-9 | 0 | |
| 10-19 | 0 | |
| 20-29 | 0 | |
| 30-39 | 1 | |
| 40-49 | 3 | |
| 50-59 | 2 | |
| 60-69 | 0 | |
| 70-79 | 0 | |
| 80+ | 0 |
Top 25 wildfires (1992+) in the FPA-FOD ignitions database, scaled by acres. 943,170 acres burned in this 50-mile radius. Each dot is a fire — bigger dots burned more land.
| Year | Cause | Acres | Distance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 115,997 | 38.7 mi | |
| 2003 | Arson/incendiarism | 91,281 | 4.0 mi | |
| 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 65,000 | 12.6 mi | |
| 2006 | Natural | 61,700 | 44.2 mi | |
| 2003 | Arson/incendiarism | 59,788 | 10.9 mi | |
| 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 51,000 | 22.5 mi | |
| 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 40,200 | 34.6 mi | |
| 2002 | Arson/incendiarism | 37,240 | 28.8 mi | |
| 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 36,274 | 12.7 mi | |
| 2020 | Equipment and vehicle use | 33,424 | 21.6 mi | |
| 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 30,305 | 31.5 mi | |
| 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 28,476 | 34.7 mi |
Top 10 ZIP codes by NFIRS incident count across 2021–2025. Each ZIP has its own fire profile — dive in for neighborhood-level context.
Six California cities with population within ±25% of San Bernardino. Useful comparison targets — same state, similar size, different fire profile.
A 30-minute weekend can cut your home's exposure substantially. These four checklists are a good starting point.
Numbers reflect incidents reported by participating fire departments to the National Fire Incident Reporting System (NFIRS) Public Data Release for calendar year 2025. NFIRS is voluntary — about 23,000 of roughly 30,000 US fire departments report — so totals are a strong indicator, not a complete census. Per-capita comparisons use 2023 ACS population estimates. Wildland fire data complements NFIRS with NIFC and USFS perimeters. Active-fire counts come from a dated NIFC snapshot, not a live feed.